RSS Feed

Baby led weaning, 1 month later ….

Posted on

As I’m writing this I can’t believe it’s already been a month since we started baby led weaning with Isaac! We’ve all learnt lots and we’re absolutely loving it!

So, what have we learnt so far….

-In the very early days I learnt to literally sit on my hands! We had quite a few gagging moments but Isaac always either worked the food round with his tongue or sometimes was a bit sick. I think me jumping up to ‘help’ him would have probably put him off more than anything! A friend told me if they can make noise they can breathe, a good piece of advice.
-I’ve learnt to be more relaxed about how much is actually going in, it’s called baby LED weaning for a reason! Sometimes Isaac is still happy with an assortment of spoons to bang!
-I’m learning all about nappies on a whole new level!! Isaac is quite fond of apples, his nappies smell of cider-sorry if thats too much info!
-I’ve learnt the importance of all in one bibs and a shower curtain under the high chair!
-Isaac has learnt how to pick up food, how to hold it so he can get it in his mouth, to suck or bite bits off, to chew, move food round his mouth and to swallow food. He approaches food in such a brilliant way, tries every thing we put in front of him, I’m very proud!
-I’ve learnt Isaac deals with food in different ways. Some he picks up and they go straight in his mouth. Others he picks up, examines then puts in his mouth. Some he squashes in his hand, explores the texture then just let’s go-he did this with raspberries and his whole meal took on a pink hue!

Isaac has tried so many foods: apple, carrot, broccoli, baby corn, tuna, pasta, sugar snap peas, cucumber, toast, yoghurt, strawberries, raspberries, avocado, cream cheese, rice cakes, pepper, pitta bread, chicken, ham, tomato, sweet potato, lettuce, fish finger, parsnip, butternut squash, steak, mince, porridge, pea pancakes……I’m sure I’ve forgotten something, he’s developing a wide palate!
He’s got definite favourites-apple, carrot, broccoli, baby corn, rice cakes, cream cheese and some things he’s not so sure about-strawberries produced the best ‘ugh’ face yet!

I can’t wait to carry on introducing him to different tastes, we haven’t tried anything spicy yet, that could be fun!

20120403-210352.jpg

20120403-210415.jpg

20120403-210438.jpg

🙂

One response »

  1. Did you breastfeed? If so then don’t delay with the spices & chilli and such! He will be used to it from your milk anyway. We eat a lot of curry in this house and my eldest refused any bland food, it all had to have a bit of a kick to it! Started BLW with youngest this week, hope she takes to it as well! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

